Overcoming Antisemitism

Programmbeschreibung

In den letzten Jahren erlebte die demokratische Welt ein Wiederaufleben der antisemitischen Aktivitäten und Gefühle. In ganz Europa wurden Synagoguen verbrannt, Rabbiner auf der Straßen missbraucht, Kinder auf dem Weg zur Schule und in Schulen physisch angegriffen und jüdische Friedehöfe geschändet. (1)

Die Notwendigkeit, mit dem existierenden Antisemitismus zu konfrontieren und seine Ausbreitung zu verhindern, ist daher ein dringender Bedarf und ein Anliegen für alle - Juden und Nichtjuden – in der Hoffnung, dass wir in Gesellschaften ohne Hass leben können.

Dieser Kurs zielt auf die Entwicklung des Verständnis dafür, dass die jüdische Identität verschiedene Ausdrucksformen hat. Die Juden haben immer versucht  ein Gleichgewicht zwischen ihrer spezifischen religiösen und kulturellen Zugehörigkeit und ihren anderen Identifikationen, wie z.B. nationale, ethnische und sprachliche Identifikation, zu finden. Als solche, haben sie sich immer mit vielfältigen Identitäten auseinandergesetzt, ohne die Identität der anderen zu schädigen. Durch dieses Trainingsprogramm hoffen wir, dass die Teilnehmer die Rolle des jüdischen Volkes als Beitrag zum Aufbau eines inklusiven Europas schätzen werden. Wir hoffen auch, dass sie  motiviert sind, die Fähigkeiten und Strategien auszuüben, die Vorurteile, Antisemitismus und Hass gegen die Juden verhindern können .

Ziele des Traningsprogramms

Die Ziele des ‘Overcoming Antisemitism’ Trainingsprogramms sind:

  • das Bewusstsein für das jüdische Volk, seine Kultur und Religion zu schärfen;
  • besseres Verständnis des Antisemitismus und seiner Formen;
  • zeitgenössische und historische Erscheinungsformen des Antisemitismus zu erkunden;
  • die Relevanz des Antisemitismus und der Erfahrung des jüdischen Volkes in Bezug auf die Fragen der Vielfalt und Diskriminierung im Allgemeinen zu erkunden;
  • Entwicklung von Fähigkeiten und Strategien zur Bewältigung des Antisemitismus.

Upcoming Training Courses

Visit our event calendar to find out more about upcoming Overcoming Antisemitism training courses.


(1) Das Stephen Roth Institute for the Study of Contemporary Antisemitism and Racism ist eine Ressource für Informationen, bietet ein Forum für wissenschaftliche Diskussion und fördert dauernde Forschung  über Fragen, die mit antisemitischen und rassistischen Theorien und Erscheinungsformen verbunden  sind.  Die soziale und politische Ausbeutung dieser Phänomene in der Periode seit dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs und der Einfluss ihres historischen Hintergrunds sind die wichtigsten Schwerpunkte des Instituts.

Overcoming Antisemitism

Programme description

In recent years, the democratic world has unfortunately witnessed a resurgence of antisemitic activity and sentiments. Around Europe, synagogues have been burned, rabbis have been abused in the streets, Jewish children have been physically attacked on the way to school and inside schools, and Jewish cemeteries have been desecrated. (1)

The need to confront antisemitism where it exists, and to prevent it from spreading, is therefore an urgent need and a concern for all – Jews and non-Jews – wishing to live in societies that are free from hatred.

This training course seeks to develop an understanding that Jewish identity has diverse expressions. Jewish people have always had to find a balance between their specific religio-cultural belonging and their other identifications, e.g. national, ethnic, linguistic, etc. As such, there is an extensive collective experience of having to grapple with multifaceted identities without diminishing the identities of others. Hopefully, through this training programme, participants will come to appreciate the role of the Jewish people in contributing to the construction of an inclusive Europe and thus be motivated to exercise skills and strategies that prevent and confront prejudice, antisemitism and hatred against Jews.

Training objectives

The objectives of the ‘Overcoming Antisemitism’ training programme are to

  • increase awareness of Jewish people, culture and religion
  • increase understanding of what antisemitism is and how it is manifested
  • explore contemporary and historical manifestations of antisemitism
  • explore the relevance of antisemitism and the experience of the Jewish people to issues of diversity and discrimination in general
  • and to develop skills and strategies for confronting antisemitism.

Upcoming training courses


(1) The Stephen Roth Institute for the Study of Contemporary Antisemitism and Racism is a resource for information, provides a forum for academic discussion and fosters continuing research on issues linked to antisemitic and racist theories and manifestations. The social and political exploitation of these phenomena in the period since the end of World War II, and the influence of their historical background, constitute the principal focus of the Institute.